The Pictures on the Wall

In the old house, it took us until the very last month we lived in it, so about 18 months into living in the home, for us to finally hang up some pictures. We did this with the idea of staging in our minds, not for sentimental reasons. In general, all of our photos were sitting on the floor in the places they were to be hung, at some point, once we’d finished other projects in the room, but obviously we sold the house and never got around to finishing all the projects stored away in our brains. It’s sort of depressing that we had all of our art just sitting on bookshelves, are leaned up against the wall waiting to be hung. Le sigh.

So in this house, I made a very firm resolution to not wait 18 months to hang our family pictures and art. THIS time, I was going to hang up those pictures as soon as we got in the house!

Three months later, I’ve finally done it! This is very unfinished, but it’s a start and I’m always amazed at how art can make a home look instantly lived-in.

I decided to focus my attention on an area that will probably remain relatively unchanged while we live here. Since the main floor will be rearranged once the basement is done, my options were limited.

KaBlam! Blank canvas:

Hanging Art on a blank wall

I couldn’t really get a good picture of the space (although now that I think about it, I probably could have stood on the kitchen island and gotten a better shot… perspective…) but basically we have this giant wall leading down to the basement and it was just calling my name. It was saying, “Jen. JEN! Gallery wall. It’ll be sooo good!”

Well, what the wall wants, the wall gets. She’s a feisty, persuasive type of wall.

I didn’t really have a plan. I just grabbed a bunch of pictures, laid them out on the ground in a formation I thought was compatible with the angle of the stairs and then thought, “Whelp, here goes nothing.”

WallArt2

One thing I did find helpful was this little sheet of paper that came with a frame I purchased for one of the photos. I actually used it for a couple of the frames because many of them are just 8×10 frames in various styles. If the picture had a different setup for hanging, I drew it in by hand on the sheet and used it as an alternative template. Then, I hammered the nail in where the template said it needed to go and voilà! Success!

WallArt4

 

I didn’t have to buy anything for this wall. It was all stuff that we already had sitting around that just needed to be hung. I printed out the vintage camera solely because I had an even number of hanging pictures up until that point… and I have a thing for odd numbers. Seriously.

The Paris painting I bought from a street vendor when I was in Paris when I studied abroad in college. The house picture I bought on Etsy three years ago. It was originally a gift for my mom, but I liked it so much I bought one for us too.

WallArt5

And these beautiful people are one-of-kind. Obviously.

I’m not sure why we look so washed out in the upper family picture.

Pssst- If you’re looking for a family photographer in Minnesota, make sure you check out La Caturra Photography. She’s a friend of mine from high school and she does a great job!

WallArt7

 

You can also see the second painting from the Parisian street vendor (below the picture of the three kiddos) and then, finally, a giant painting I bought at a thrift store for $7 about a week before I hung this wall. I really like most of the painting, I don’t love all of the painting (was the fence actually necessary? No, I don’t think it was). However, for now, it looks really nice amidst the rest and it’s a great size.

WallArt3

Here’s what it looks like from my kitchen island. I fully intend on switching these in and out as we grow in this house. Considering I hung up a grand total of about 10 pictures in the last house, and there are nine in this compilation alone, I’d say I’m well on my way to breaking my previous record!

What all have you been up to? I read somewhere that the gallery wall is on its way “out”. Thoughts? Do you neglect to hang up pictures until the very last moment? Or is it the first thing you do when you move in somewhere?

 

 

Leave a Reply

