Baby #3: The Wish List

First and foremost, thank you to everyone for the amazing response we got with our little announcement! It’s always such an incredible feeling to have such an outpouring of love and encouragement from those we hold most dear. You all are amazing, and I don’t know what we would do without you! So, from us to all of you: Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

No one can deny that after having two babies, we’ve got our fair share of baby items. It’s amazing the things you register for with your first that you never even use. There are also things that we’ve used so much they’ve pretty much disintegrated into nothing! As we head into preparation for our third, and replace some of our worn-into-the-ground items, there a couple of new things that would be nice to add to the inventory. Most of these things are in no way essential items for surviving parenthood, but they’re definite luxuries we wouldn’t mind having. Here’s a couple of things on our wish list for baby number three, whether or not they’ll make the cut for things we actually buy remains to be seen.

Wish List

 

1. Skip Hop Duo Diaper Bag

Let’s just say, Mama needs a new diaper bag. Since we’ve just recently potty trained Charlotte, my list of things that need to be toted around with us has significantly dropped. However, with the arrival of a new bambino I’ll definitely need to start carting around a longer list of essentials again. My last diaper bag was pretty worn and torn by the time I finally tossed it for a “grown up” purse, but that too will need to be replaced at some point. I’m the type of girl who only ever has one purse at a time, so they get well used (read: destroyed). Having a messenger-style bag is always a must for me because I hate (HATE) it when I’m struggling with little hands and my purse strap keeps falling off my shoulder. Did I mention I hate that? Yeah, I pretty much hate it. So I love the Skip Hop bag because it’s got the awesome strap, the awesome not-a-diaper-bag design, and it comes with a host of goodies that make toting baby items around easier.

2. Gund Comfy Cozy

File this under “non-essential but completely adorable and snuggly”. A friend of mine has one of these guys and it’s so soft! Seriously, when they start making them in adult size, I’m all in. I think this makes a great option when you want to lay baby down on the floor (before they’re rolling and such) and play with them. For the first few months, most of play time happens with baby on their backs so it’s nice to have a soft, comfy place for them to be while you make a fool of yourself for their benefit. I think “Peek-A-Boo” and “How Big Is Baby” is much more fun for them when they’re not laying on cold, hard wood floors.

3. Sakura Bloom Baby Sling

Mmmm. A baby sling. I’m all about baby-wearing. We’ve got the Ergo carrier already, and a very tired and worn out Moby (after four years and two babies, it’s been an absolute trooper). A sling, therefore, is definitely not a necessary item, but there is something to being able to throw it on and go that really appeals to me. At the price of a Sakura, it’s a pretty expensive non-essential, but it’s still something I dream about at night.

4. Honest Company Diapers

We’ll be cloth diapering with Baby #3, like we did with Sophie, but they won’t fit for the first two months or so. I’ve never tried the Honest brand of diapers before, but a couple of people I know have, and they love it. So we’ll have to see. I like the idea of trying to do our part to keep trash down to a minimum, and the fact that they’re more biodegradable than your standard disposable diaper is comforting. We’ll keep you posted.

5. Aden & Anais Swaddle Blankets

Aden & Anais. These blankets are amazing. They’re amazing when you have a baby who loves to be swaddled. They’re amazing when your baby becomes a toddler and likes to play “Super Heroes” because they act as the perfect billowing Super Hero Cape. Plus they’re so darn cute! Sophie is almost four and still drags the one we bought around with her. I would love to get a set of them for the new baby.

6. Canon Digital SLR Camera

This is something Tim and I have talked about for a while, and are still in conversation about. I would really like to buy a nicer camera to use as a family camera. It would be really nice to be able to take super crisp, detailed photos without having to pay a photographer to do it for us. As this is a huge expense. It’s something we’ll continue to save up for and hopefully buy sometime in the future. In the meantime, the smaller camera we have takes great photos, and we’re very happy with it.

7. The First Years Close and Secure Sleeper

Can be honest with you? I don’t remember much of Charlotte’s first six months of life. Each baby is different, and while Sophie was a pretty good sleeper from day 1, Charlotte, well, was not so much. She tricked us, that little stinker. The first week was amazing. She slept so well I had to wake her up every four hours, as recommended, at night to feed her. Then the second week rolled around and she was up every two hours, on the hour, screaming for food and snuggles. And it went on like that until she was around six months when she finally switched to waking up once at night. Side bar: nobody should be allowed to take pictures of parents who have just had children, it’s not fair to see those photos once you’re out of the “dark period” and have your idea of the way you THOUGHT you looked be smashed into a billion pieces when you see the reality of what you ACTUALLY looked like. It’s always worse. Much worse.

So, I would really like to try this co-sleeper to make breastfeeding in the middle of the night easier and less of a task (and perhaps minimize the amount of puffiness under my sleep-deprived eyes). I think we’ll try to put baby in their crib from day 1, but I’m not kidding myself into thinking I’m going to be a super peppy in-the-middle-of-the-night feeder when I need to get up four times, walk into baby’s room, feed baby, rock baby back to sleep, walk back into my bedroom like a champion and have an amazing power nap for two hours until baby wakes up again. No, normally I shlump and fumble through late-night/early-morning feedings like some weird, gloppy monster. To combat this, if baby’s right next to me, I can reach and feed and replace instead of shlump and fumble.

8. Baby Monitor

With Sophie, we bought a baby monitor and it broke within a month of using it. Whomp whomp. With Charlotte, we didn’t bother because she was in the same room as Sophie when sleeping at night and during the day I was normally wearing her in one of our baby carriers or she was sleeping in her baby swing while Sophie and I went about our day around her. With baby number three however, I’m going to have two very active toddlers (is Sophie even considered a toddler anymore?) running around the house and I’m not always going to be in the immediate vicinity. For the first time in our housing history, we’ve got a multi-level home and so it would be nice to have some monitors set up so I can make sure I can hear baby no matter where I am.

 

So there you have it, my list of wants for the new addition. This list will probably be ever-changing as we get closer to the due date, but for now, this is where I’m at.

How about you guys? Did you find you used some things with your first, and never touched with your second? Did you revamp your baby stuff when you added a new addition to the family? What kind of baby carriers do you swear by, or do you not like any of them? Is there a type of baby monitor that you love and could recommend?

Cheers!

Jen

 

Psst- I was not paid or perked by any of these brands, they’re just items I think would be super handy to have as we welcome our new addition.

Leave a Reply

