The Post in Which I Try to Paint Something Fancy, and Drool Over Artwork

I’ve hit a bit of a writer’s block.

It’s not that I have nothing to blog about. We’ve been really busy at home, we’ve finished the banister, painted a chalkboard wall, installed a dishwasher, new faucet in the kitchen, begun construction on the entry bench and intend to start finishing the baseboards on the first floor. But for some reason, I’m just unable to put our current projects into words.

So here’s a post about nothing in particular, just a current musing of mine.

As a New Year’s resolution I’ve decided to amp-up my “Culture Factor” and become an art connoisseur. And by that I mean I’ve decided that I live in a big girl house, it’s probably time I got some big girl art to go with it. Posters bought at college fairs can only take you so far. And by that I mean, I’m just looking for an excuse to spend money on artwork. Can I #firstworldproblems?

Painting

So here’s the deal about the artwork we have at home right now. The majority of the pictures we hang up are photographs of our family. Our wedding day. Yearly family portraits.  You know how we do. And I love it. I love having the house filled with so many personal moments. But I would like to amp up our collection of art by exploring the world of paintings, and graphic prints. I’ve even begun to dabble a bit in painting at home on an easel Tim bought me last year for Christmas (maybe my birthday?) .

I’ve also been searching online, looking for artists that are inspiring, paintings that speak to me, and collections that look good together.

Here’s a Monday round-up of some of the artists that I’ve fallen in love with.

Albie Designs

These awesome prints from Albie Designs are on my fav list because they’re of the cities Tim and I have lived in for the majority of our adult lives. We love our Twin Cities. Both of us grew up in the suburbs surround the twin cities, but have settled in Minneapolis, actively deciding to live within the city limits, and we love it. I would love to buy this set and have them displayed in our living room, possibly with a display of the keys to the houses/apartments we’ve lived in together.

Kate Marshall

I’ll be the first to say that I have done my share of making fun of the wave of art that I liked to call “paintings of absolutely nothing”, but have recently developed an appreciation for their understated complexities. I love this grouping by the very talented Kate Marshall. I love the colors, I love the textures and I’d snap them up in a heartbeat if they were within my available budget.

Kai Davis

When I found Kai Samuels-Davis’ shop on Etsy I was like, “I want all the things! I want all the things!”. Then, when the Emily Henderson used them in her design for the Fig House, I was like, “I. WANT. ALL. THE. THINGS!” I still haven’t convinced Tim it’s a good idea, but I will. I will.

Project1

I think these are beautiful, enchanting, lovely etc. etc. Even the girls love them. They helped me pick out the set for the photo. Can’t go wrong when artwork is even inspiring to the toddlers in the house, right?

So there you have it. Some lovely artwork that has my head buzzing. I hope this post about nothing in particular has inspired you in some way on this Monday afternoon.

What artists do you find inspirational? Do you find artwork to be a must-have in the home or do you just have buckets of family photos like us? Do you paint, sculpt, sketch etc?

Cheers!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

