Recipe: Gluten & Dairy Free Quiche

Does anybody else hear the word “Quiche” and think soggy eggs? I’m not sure where in my past I had a soggy-egged Quiche but since then, I’ve always found even the mention of the word to be wholly unappetizing.

But with the prospect of having to feed 20+ people for Sophie’s birthday brunch, I wanted something easy, breakfast-y and able to feed a room full of people without much work on my part. So, as I often do, I came across this amazing recipe from one of my favorite bloggers. I seriously make one of her meals at least once a week.

The only problem was, one of my very good friends (read: basically my non-blood related little sister) has recently discovered that she has a gluten and dairy allergy. Screw you allergies!

So now I was looking for a meal that was easy, breakfast-y, able to feed a room full of people without much work and be gluten/dairy free. Why can’t life just be simple?

However, I found with a couple of small modifications I could make a great Quiche (even now, I still squirm when I say that word… kind of like moist, or penetrate) as well as meet the needs of all the gluten/dairy free people of the world birthday part guest list.

Without further ado, I give you my not-so-secret recipe:

Dairy Free Sausage and Mushroom Quiche, with Easy Homemade Gluten Free Crust

Adapted from 100 Days of Real Food’s Quiche with a Super Easy Whole-Wheat Crust

photo-10-1

Now, this recipe is for sausage and mushroom, but use whatever your favorite ingredients are. Go wild with onion, kale, peppers etc. We’ve done this a couple of different ways now and it turns out great every time.

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 1.5 cups rice flour (white or brown)
  • 1/2 cup butter substitute (I used Earth Balance’s Natural Buttery Spread in Original by recommendation from a friend who knows more about this stuff than me)
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 T. almond milk (for those who have a peanut allergy, try using coconut milk or soy milk instead)

For the filling:

  • 1.5 cups almond (soy, or coconut) milk
  • 4 eggs
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Dash of cayenne pepper (this is optional, but I’ve tried it without a couple times and I definitely prefer it with)
  • 1 lb (or less) hot sausage
  • As many mushrooms as you want to make it delicious

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Cook sausage until cooked through and mushrooms in a pan.
  3. In a medium-sized bowl, stir together all the ingredients for the crust.
  4. After it’s been thoroughly mixed, form dough into a ball. Then, roll out the dough using a rolling-pin into a flat circle.
  5. Transfer circle into a 9-inch pie pan and then press the dough into the pan, making sure it comes up on the sides. Pinch the edges to the top of the pan.
  6. Mix cooked sausage and mushrooms thoroughly with the remainder of the filling ingredients and pour into pie pan.
  7. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes until toothpick inserted comes out clean and filling is set.
  8. Enjoy!

Like I said, use whatever ingredients you have on hand for the filling. My girls will eat almost anything I put in this. It’s so great and easy. Happy cooking!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Gluten & Dairy Free Quiche

Leave a Reply

